Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 21)

Bruce Long Fox to get Chamber’s most prestigious award: The George Award



RAPID CITY––The Rapid City Area Chamber of Commerce will hold its 131st Annual Meeting on Thursday, September 28 at the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center LaCroix Hall. The Annual Meeting will be held this year over the lunch hour. We will begin at noon with lunch followed promptly by the presentation.

This year’s featured guest speaker is Hugh Weber. Weber uses a variety of emergent research techniques and innovative community building skills as CEO and curator of the Institute of Possibility to reveal the rich stories, vibrant cultures, thriving networks, and infinite possibility that often lays hidden in the communities, organizations and people that we love most.

During the program the Chamber will present its three highest awards, the Young Professional of the Year Award, the Black Hills Hero Award and the George Award.

The “Young Professional of the Year Award” is sponsored by the Young Professionals Group (YPG) of the Rapid City Area Chamber of Commerce and will be presented to Angelica Brackins of Western Dakota Insurers for her involvement and leadership in the YPG and various organizations throughout the community.

Visit Rapid City will present their “Black Hills Hero Award” to Dick Gowen and the local International Collegiate Programming Competition (ICPC) Planning Committee. Gowen and the local planning committee saw the culmination of more than five years of planning come to fruition this past May when the ICPC brought the brightest programming minds from the around the globe to Rapid City.

The Chamber’s Board of Directors will present the Chamber’s most prestigious honor, the “George Award” to Bruce Long Fox. Long Fox is the Executive Director of Rural America Initiatives and a leader in the Black Hills community for the growth of the Lakota culture and people.

During the 131st Annual Meeting the Chamber will recognize Chamber Board Chair Tom Helland for his leadership this past year. Helland will pass the gavel of leadership to incoming Board Chair Jim White of Sound Pro.

We invite you to attend the Annual Meeting and help us give well deserved recognition to our honorees and volunteers.

The Chamber’s 131st Annual Meeting is sponsored by Black Hills Corporation, Black Hills Energy, First Interstate Bank, Knecht’s Home Center, Northwest Pipe Fittings, Rapid City Journal, Regional Health, Scull Construction, Security First Bank, Sound Pro, Synchrony Financial, and West River Electric. To make your reservations, contact the Chamber at 343-1744, or

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.