Error, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 21)

Region 7A Track And Field Results

Region 7A Track And Field Results

By Joseph Budd

Native Sun News Today Staff Writer

Going into the Regionals, competition had been building the last couple months to see who would punch a ticket to the state meet, held in Sioux Falls this year. At Mission, Region 7A would have several familiar faces claim spots in their respective heats. To lead off, Kenyon LeBeaux from Little Wound would capture first in both the 100 meters and the 200 meters, beating Daelen LeBeaux, also from Little Wound, in the 100, while in the 200 he would best Ty Valandra of Todd County. In the 400 meters, Zander Big Crow of Pine Ridge would pick up first place, followed by Jordan Whirlwind Horse and Cetan Black Horn, both from Lakota Tech. Thaddeus Allen of Todd County would capture both the 800 and the 1600 meters. Kadin Waln would make it 1-2 in the 800 for Todd County, while in the 1600, Neil Hicks from Bennett County would capture the second spot.

The 3200 meter, would go to Tyce Gropper from Bennett County, followed by Drayton Clark. Tyce would also capture the first place finish in the 300 meter hurdles, and Rush O’Neil of Bennett County would take first in the 110 meter hurdles, while Jayce Allen of Todd County would capture two second places in the Hurdles.

In the Relays, Lakota Tech would edge Todd County in the 4×100 relay, with Quincy Means, Jordan Whirlwind Horse, Marvin Richard capturing first, while the Falcons would run with Chris Ellert, Ty Valandra, Cayde Valandra and Richard Brill coming in second place. The 4×200 Relay would see Todd County capture the first place, with a team comprised of Michael Larvie, Chris Ellert, Cayde Valandra and Ty Valandra. Pine Ridge would come in second, their team being Kal Pond, Daniel Davis, Zander Big Crow and Julian Weston. In the 4×400 Relay, Todd County’s team of Ellert, Carver Rahn, Roger Roether and Kadin Waln would come in first, while Bennett County would capture second place, led by Neil Hicks, Wyatt Huber, Gavin Risse and Jordon Risse. In the 4×800, Bennett County would take first, with the squad of Gropper, Hicks, Huber and Gavin Risse, while Todd County would finish second, with the team of Drayton Clark, Trey Weddell, Jesse Burnette and Waln finishing the pack.

In the shot put, Todd County’s Bryce Redfish would finish in first with a distance over 40, while Red Cloud’s pair of putters in Ryu Okawara and Anthony Brewer would finish in second and third on the day. In the Discus, Lakota Tech’s Jerrick Thompson would capture the title, with Redfish finishing in second, and Todd County’s Randy Marshall-Brave in third place.

Red Cloud’s Caden Pourier would take first in the High Jump category, ahead of two Bennett County boys in Rush O’Neil and Caysen Soderlin, while in the Long Jump, Richard Brill would take first, followed up by Quincy Means and Julian Weston, from Lakota Tech and Pine Ridge, respectively. And in the Triple Jump, Thaddeus Allen, Keegan Richards and Carver Rahn would go 1-2-3 for Todd County.

In the Girls 100 meters, Eden Fanning from Bennett County would finish first, with Lolo Carlow coming in a close second. April Knight from Red Cloud would show a strong third, while in the 200 meters, Julise Shaw from Todd County would come in first, Carlow in second place again, and Victoria Good Buffalo from Red Cloud would come in third.

In the 400 meters, Bennett County would finish first and second in the class, with Tegyn Kolb and Eden Fanning showing well, while Sierra Black Bull from Pine Ridge would come in third. In the 800 meters, Jade Ecoffey of Red Cloud, Taylor Byerley from Lakota Tech and Cheree Ferguson from Red Cloud would take the top three spots, while in the 1600, Rosa Ainslie from Bennett County, Elizabeth Moore from Todd County and Taytum Banks from Bennett County would capture the top three spots. And in the 3200 Meters, Rarity Cournoyer would capture first place, with Ainslie in second and Moore taking third in the event.

In the hurdles, Todd County’s Madison Lamoureaux would finish first in the 100 meters, while in the 300 meters, Ashlan Blount from Todd County would finish first, while Fanning would come in second and Lamoureaux would finish in third.

In the 4×100 Relay, Todd County’s sprinters would take first, powered by Brooke Marshall, Elianna Wright, Bailey White Hat and Julise Shaw, while Lakota Tech’s runners would finish second, with Daisy Running Bear, Cante White Bull, Brazee Headley and Aurora Marshall. In the 4×200, Todd County would repeat capturing first, with Wright, Thailee Baker, White Hat and Lesleen Makes Room For Them, while Pine Ridge’s squad of Sierra Black Bull, Shelli Walking Eagle, Patricia and Lolo Carlow would finish in second.

Red Cloud would capture first in the 4×400, with Ashlan Blount, Cheree Ferguson, Cournoyer and Ecoffey with a strong showing, followed up by Todd County’s squad made up of Wright, Gabriella Kenny, Cadence Amiotte and Aleadah Wilson. Todd County would bound back and take first in the 4×800, with Moore, Kenny, Amiotte and Wilson taking first, while Little Wound would show well, with Avaline Little Elk, Catches, Danica Clifford and Alexis Ten Fingers would come in second place.

In the Shot Put, Baily May from Bennett County would capture first in both this class, as well Discus, while Lakota Tech’s Tawny Rodriguez and Kaylee Miller would finish second and third, while in Discus, Skye Horse Looking from Todd County would come in second, then Sara Fuchs from Bennett County would come in third.

In the High Jump, Byerley would take first, with Blount and Patricia Carlow coming in second and third, Shaw in the Long Jump would capture first with Blount in second, and Makes Room For Them in third, and in the Triple Jump, White Hat, Marshall and Makes Room For Them would give Todd County a 1-2-3 finish for the event.

The state track meet will be held May 26-28, all classes, at Howard Wood Field, Sioux Falls. Top performance lists can be found at the South Dakota High School Activities website under Track and fiel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.